Hangman

I just found and enjoyed this. Interestingly I was listening a few days ago to Two Hangmen. Remember Mason Profit? That song always struck me and strangely all of my homes have had a perfect hanging tree close by. About the time I learned to tie my shoes I also learned what I call the “neck knot” or Hangman’s Noose. Only one I knew for many years. Maybe life provided me early an Exit Strategy. Maybe I have survived so well because I have always known that I have an out option at hand.  Maybe in my last life my parents hung themselves after my drowning. One in the stairwell, one by her grave. I did learn the noose in the room above that same stairwell. The day is full of possibilities kids. Go have a great one!!

Found here, Please stop over and give Props if you like it.

Except time – a conversation with the hangman and his wife


I met a hangman on my way home
He spoke about his dreams and all that was beautiful in his life
I met his wife and she said she loved everything
The sun and the moon, the morning and the evening
The dew that disappears into the light
The soft whispers of love and care
A new-born baby’s cries
Except time

We spoke at length with pauses of silence
Echoing through the din of the uphill climb
Through the journey, they spoke at length
Of all that there was and all that there wasn’t
All that they’d done and all they hadn’t
All they prayed for and all they didn’t
And how beautiful it was to have each other
Except time

So we spoke again at length and in amused curiosity, I asked
“Would you ever leave your position?”
Bemused and a bit unnerved by this strangers question
The hangman replied – “I AM the hangman”
“And forever it shall be”
“Through the heavens and hells, it will be my decree”
“Gods shall heed and so shall the devil”
“Except time”

“But why not time?” I asked, a bit puzzled
The hangman’s wife replied with a gentle smile
“For it is but time that we fear”
“Has no form, no name, and comes with no warning, is always near”
“And as I look in his eyes, I truly believe we will forever be”
“If it were not for time”
And therefore dear friend
“Except time”

Before we realized
We had stumbled upon the hills across the sun’s cycle of sleep
And now in its brilliance, it shined
Calling unto another sunny day
When time would come and pass by
As the hangman went about his way
And his wife calmly watched him do his deed, reminding me
“Except time”

The knots were crafted
In a beautiful motion of artful creation
That only the hangman could do
The trap door was tested and the stage was set
It is then that the wife whispered to me
In half excitement and half remorse
Was a beautiful journey with you my friend but now you must go
For it is time…

 

Leave a Reply

