Maple Season 2011 Begins

Well Maple season is under way. I had been holding off tapping as I have been busy, traveling to see April and also didn’t like the weather. Plus it’s not quite the same w/out her. She started this whole thing some many years ago. But I knew there had to be a string of good days coming when I could hit it and have a quick, efficient season though a bit less in product. We don’t have very much syrup on hand so Monday I decided to tap three test trees. That is basically declaring the season open. It is something we do all the way or not at all. The sap flowed instantly and it was on. I couldn’t get the rest of the pails and buckets washed fast enough.

Luckily most taps survived two years strorage. We use hand carved Sumac taps. Some years many have split so we frantically carve new ones. I retired the coffee cans and there were some flood damaged pails so we dropped from 80 to 44 vessels.

Monday saw 13 gallons gathered and most taps didn’t get put in till after 3pm. I was on the ball and caught the first drop that morning.

Tues I scrounged up 14 more pails and got them in. Tues saw a record 69 gallons collected and on 58 taps. Most were still dripping steadily on the last round at dusk. Typical numbers for us on good days is around 35 gallons on 80 taps. I suppose we average 20 gallons daily over a season. Though I regret not being one day earlier we will still have a good season as long as it continues to freezes at night.

This is easily our favorite Tap. Originally hung here the first season the Salvation Army bucket has become tradition. This tree consistantly produces big numbers which not only warrants a small bucket, adds to the cool factor as well.

The tank is almost full so I will light the fire today w/ pictures of the boil forthcoming.

CLMF!!!!

One response to “Maple Season 2011 Begins

  1. Good stuff my friend……… Keep it comin.

Leave a Reply

