Sign of the Times

Well I got this notice packaged in my latest and obviously next-to-last copy of Cruising World. It is the last of the sailing magazine subscriptions to run out. At one time I received up to four different publications a month. Cruising World, Latitudes and Attitudes, Sail, Yachting, This Old Boat, and a few others that came free from boat shows. They were all great fodder for the sailing dream but as the dream draws nearer to reality they are just extra baggage.
We only have a few months left at our permanent address so even if we wanted to make room aboard the boat for them they would have a hard time keeping up w/ us. Yes, I will and do miss the articles, tech tips, and new product reviews. Captain Fatty is always the first read when CW arrives. He has been an inspiration for me long before he graced the pages.
Another thing is time to read. Our lives are approaching warp speed as we make the switch from land to sea. When I do have reading time it is now engine manuals and repair books that my nose is in. Instead of a good article or story over coffee on Sunday morning I am learning boat systems.
So farewell to all my favorite rags.
It is time to make our own dreamy stories of far away sunsets.
 
CLMF!!!!
Leave a Reply

